The Ben Johnson Trophy


Ben Johnson Trophy


As well as the Scrapheap Challenge Trophy noted in the Scrapheap page, we now have an award for the best model shown at our annual exhibition, the Ben Johnson Trophy. This is awarded to the best model in the show as voted for by all modellers and visitors. An award by your peers is always a high tribute as they are the ones who can best judge the degree of skill and ingenuity the winning model displays. The Ben Johnson Cup was donated by David Worth to honour The Ben Johnson Forget Me Not Foundation -


The first winner of this cup was Peter Evans at our April 2012 exhibition. Peter showed his Burrell Showman's Traction Engine.  This was a great result as Peter has been the most prolific model builder in the SWMC in recent years. Peter also showed his Burrell at the Runnymede Club in June 2012 and won 2nd prize.



Steve Briancourt

USS Missouri (2017)

Steve Briancourt

USS Missouri (2016)

Philip Drew

Tricky Track (2015)

Philip Drew

Ball Game (2014)

Richard Smith

City of London Locomotive (2013)

Pete Evans

Burrell Showman's Engine (2012)